T.G.I.F


I’m not sure how big of a part T.G.I.F. was to other people’s childhood, but it was HUGE part of mine.  Ever since I was old enough to remember watching TV I rememebr watching T.G.I.F.  I remember watching Dinosaurs, the Family Matters.  I don’t think I knew it was actually called Family Matters until much later in life though because I, and everyone else in my family just referred to it as “Steve Urkle”…haha…did iiii do thaaaattt? haha.  When I was really little we were only allowed to watch those two shows and then my mom would say “OK Bedtime for Bonzos…last one to the top of the stairs is a rotten egg” and being the oldest (and most competitive) I would push my little brother and sister out of the way to make sure that I won….every time.  Then came the era of Boy Meets World…now that was a great show…well it was at least until Corey and Tapanga got married, but then again solidifying a tv romance usually kills it for the viewer regardless as to the show.  I actually remember vividly one time, I was probably in 4th or 5th grade and I was at Dick’s with my dad and it was nearing 8PM on a Friday, and I was getting nervous because if you have ever been shopping with my dad…its not a quick process.  Well anyways, by the time we got back to the car it was almost 8:30, and although its a bit embarrassing to admit it, I did silently cry in the backseat on the way home because I had missed the first show of  T.G.I.F.

Anyways, the point is that maybe I don’t have T.G.I.F. anymore, and being 25 my weekly celebratory night is spent with people other than Sabrina the Teenage Witch and Corey Matthews, that feeling of freedom, even if its only momentary is still amazing.  I hope that never changes!

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on April 1, 2011, in T.V.. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think partner?

