A&E’s Intervention


I went through a phase a little while ago when I was really into watching Intervention.  I caught it every Monday night on A&E along with Hoarders, which is a whole other story, and even watched many episodes online.  At first it was like “wow, these poor people!” then I just started thinking how dumb they were.  In every single episode, when they get to the hotel room where the intervention takes place, the addict seems genuinely SHOCKED that they’re family and friends are there to try and make them go to rehab.  I mean seriously, do these people not watch TV?  Do they really, honestly, believe that they are being filmed for “a documentary on addiction”?  It is Ludacris.

 

The other thing about the show is that like Law & Order, NCIS, Bones, etc, if you miss the first 5 minutes its almost not worth watching the show.  You really need to see what a “happy child” this person was or how “athletic” or “successful” they were before they got their front teeth knocked out in a drug deal-gone wrong or became such a raging alcoholic that they drink mouth wash by the gallon because of it’s alcohol content or even drink everything they have in house, which causes them to throw up, and then proceed to drink the throw up because it’s the only alcoholic beverage they have left…yes I went there.

 

While this program shows the shocking confessionals of Crystal Meth, Crack Cocaine, Heroin and Alcohol Addicts (among others), I eventually had to have an intervention of my own and stop watching the show because even thought I don’t have these issues, these people who I don’t even know were actually starting to depress me!  Last night I had a small “relapse” and watched an episode, but I really hope to stay clean from now on…Sooo, on to the next addiction…EXTREME COUPONING!! (Wednesday nights at 9 and 9:30 on TLC)

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on April 14, 2011, in T.V.. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think partner?

