Running Etiquette:


Last night I was out for a run with my dog, doing a normal route that I’m usually quite happy with, but last night was no ordinary night.  Where running usually relaxes me and makes me feel rejuvenated, by the end of my 5 miles, I found myself confused, and quite frankly a little annoyed.  Why, you may be thinking, did I feel this way?  Well, it’s really quite simple.  I saw approximately 7 other runners on my run (2 of them, running together, I saw twice because we were doing the same loop in opposite directions), and not even one of them had the decency to give me the “runner’s wave”, head bob or even eye contact for that matter!  I mean seriously, what is with that?  We are both out there, bonded by the love of running, in the heat, and you can’t even acknowledge me? How rude.

In my opinion, there are many people you do not have to acknowledge:

  1. “Wheelers”:  Bikers, roller bladers and skateboarders.  They are a different species than us runners and because they are going too fast, they likely wont respond.
  2. “Groupies:  Any group of 3+.  They are a running “clique” and will probably talk about you after if you say something to them (or maybe even if you don’t-who knows) because most likely a group of runners is a team and is between the ages of 15 – 18.  Don’t waste your time.
  3. “Slow Pokes”:  Any runner you are passing from behind.  If you say anything, you’ll just be rubbing it in that you are better than them.
  4. “Head-down joggers”:  they probably have their heads down because they are struggling…so again, don’t rub in that you are enjoying your run.

None of the people I ran into fell into these categories, thus leaving me disappointed in my fellow striders.  In my opinion, you should ALWAYS acknowledge a single running who is coming towards you.  You can do anything from an overzealous “Hi, how ya doin?” to even a single finger raise.  It’s really not that hard.

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on June 8, 2011, in Road Rage. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. there are only a few rare occassions where I do not give the runners wave. So rude if people don’t.

    Like

What do you think partner?

