POGs


Anyone remember POGs?  I remember thinking (for some reason)  that they were SO cool.  I remember saving up my allowance to get them, and looking back I can’t for the life of me figure out why.  They are seriously one of the dumbest kid toy crazes I can remember…right up wither with “gak”…I mean seriously that crap really has no point at all.  I specifically remember getting this sick slammer…it was pretty heavy and black with a silver skull and cross bone on it.   Then I remember one year I got a “pog maker” for Christmas so I could make my own pogs with drawings, pictures or clippings from magazines on them, so I guess you could say that was pretty awesome.  For a while I was collecting them…I probably had hundreds, and figured that it was probably a good idea to hold on to them because they would probably be worth something someday…plus it was always good to have a lot (even if they were duplicates) because you could trade them with other people in order to “enhance” your collection.  The trading could get intense at times because you had to denote  a value for your pog…sometimes you could do an even trade, 1 for 1, but other times if you had a really good one, it could be worth 2-3 just ok ones.  And if you were trying to trade a pog for a slammer forget about it…that could really cost you. Anyways, like any other fad, this early 90s game kicked the bucket rather quickly but every now and again I think of it and to this day it still makes me smile.

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on July 11, 2011, in 90's...livin the dream. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think partner?

