oh hi…i didnt see you there…


Have you ever run into someone you know and they just ignore you?  This has happened to me before, and I’ve gotta say its probably one of the most annoying things ever.  This particular time, I was in a local store and I saw someone who I used to be really good friends with, but had drifted apart, and he completely ignored me!  Now, even I can admit that I wasn’t thrilled about the inevitable interaction, but that being said, I wasn’t going to just outwardly ignore it either!  I walked in, and we were both looking up, straight ahead, right at each other…therefore, we made eye contact….EYE CONTACT.  Once the initial E.C. is made, the fake conversation is theoretically locked in.  So at that point, I figured we’d just get it over with…so I started walking his way, and then I noticed what was happening…he was focusing intently on the ground….umm are you kidding me??  Obviously I noticed this, which made me want to call him out on his rookie mistake.  So,  I went straight up to him and said something, and when I did, the most irritating thing came out of his mouth.  He pulled the “Oh, Hey!! I didn’t even see you there, how are you?” Wow, at least be a man and admit that you were completely trying to avoid me!  I cannot even believe that he would try to play that card.  Well anyways, the moral of the story is that if you are trying to avoid someone, what you really need to do is ACTUALLY avoid them.  Hide behind something, wear a mask, heck, run away if you have to!!  But, if you make eye contact, just surrender to the situation because you aren’t fooling anyone but yourself, and ultimately you are just making yourself look like an asshole.

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on July 27, 2011, in Ridiculous People. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. The best way to treat these conversations in my opinion is to troll the other person by putting on a fake persona that makes them want to exit the conversation right away. So, start the conversation with something very cryptic, like “Hi, long time now see, so have you seen the light yet?” or something scary like “Hi, do you know about the wonders of Scientology yet?”, or the ever popular starting the conversation off in some other language, to make them think that it isn’t you, but someone from another country that looks very like you. That way, rather than sitting through a 5 minute shuffle fest, where you are faking caring, the other person will just make up an excuse to end the conversation right way. That, or they will be into whatever weird thing you start off with, in which case you can just laugh and run off.

    Like

What do you think partner?

