Beanie Babies…another 90’s gem


AHHHH beanie babies.  Now there’s something I haven’t thought about in quite some time.  What an ingenious idea.  Take some small little stuffed animals, fill them with beads, give them a name and personality, tell customers that they will be “worth something” and you have created the a fad that will get bigger than Kristie Alley’s dress size (before dancing w the stars 😉 ).  I swear to you, that the second you tell people that what they are purchasing is going to be “worth something” they are ALL over it…typical Americans, always want somethin for nothin!  Think about it.-People get those “state quarters” by the roll, and I can pretty much guarantee to you that none of those quarters are ever going to be worth more than 25 cents!  Anyways,  of course like every other 9 year old girl in the mid 1990’s I was all about the Beanie Babies.  The black and white cat in the picture there was my first one.  His name was “Zip”, and he sure was something.

Then, just as the beanie fad starting winding down, something amazing happened.  McDonald’s started giving away Beanie Baby Minis in Happy Meals.  Now, if the regular sized Beanies weren’t worth anything, the smaller versions were obviously going to be worth millions one day.  I mean seriously, I know people that would go through McDonald’s and get 20 Happy Meals just so they could have the Beanies, and even go as far as keep them in the plastic packaging they came in, in order to keep them in mint condition of course.  Although even as a kid, I was not a fast food fan, even I begged my mother to take me to MickyD’s so I could enhance my Beanie Baby collection appropriately.

I know that even today there are still a lot of crazys out there that are waiting for the value on these toys to rise, but I think most of the modern world has come to terms with the fact that, like most collections that  Americans have invested in, the collection becomes valuable only if the item is hard to find or if the product actually has some kind of value, which these clearly do not.  I will admit that I do have one Beanie Baby still – “Erin” the Irish bear, which I keep because its my  name, and I recent purchased “Sid” the sloth from the movie Ice Age for my boyfriend because I think they look alike-could be twins.  But other than that, as we all know, all good things must come to an end…Zip and the boys and all their miniature brothers and sister have long ago kicked the curb.  From time to time, I see Beanie babies in the grocery store or a gift shop and think to myself, “who buys these things anymore!!”, and even though I walk by them without a thought, which i never would have done 15 years ago, it brings me back to a simpler time.

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on July 29, 2011, in 90's...livin the dream. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I may or may not have a box in my closet at my parent’s house labeled “BEANIE BABIES – DO NOT TOUCH”…

    Like

What do you think partner?

