Black Friday – Thanksgiving’s downfall…


Everyone knows (or should know) that Black Friday is the evil step sister to Thanksgiving Day.  I remember the one time that I participated in this ridiculous holiday I was about 15, and at that time we didn’t leave our house until around 5 because the stores didn’t open until 6AM…unfortunately, that is no longer the case.  Now in order to stake out a good spot in line, you need to get up MUCH earlier than that.  In fact, for some more popular stores that sell the latest electronics or children’s toys, you actually have to camp out in order to insure that you are going to get what you come for.  And then, once you do get into the store of your choice, its now survival of the fittest! Check out this mob, even the senior citizen is showing that shes not above getting physical to get what she came for!  Now, how ridiculous is that?  Instead of enjoying Thanksgiving and spending time with your family and friends you are secluding yourself mapping out which stores have the best deals, and going to bed early to you can get up at 2AM.  This year, many stores are even open ON Thanksgiving day…now I know its a fine line, but I think this definitely crosses it!  How about this:  why don’t we celebrate one holiday and enjoy it before we move on to the next??!

 

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on November 21, 2011, in Happy Holidays!, Ridiculous People. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. ahhh my first day of not working black friday in 7 years and I am definitely going to look forward to enjoying my Thanksgiving!

    Like

What do you think partner?

