Men are from Mars…or at least a place where they are not taught to LOOK for things…


          Have you ever noticed how boys AND men (it really doesn’t matter for this specific skill set because they are on about the same level from age six on) have HUGE issues looking for things, and in many cases will simply put it off until the smarter/more organized sex comes around to help?  If you are a woman of any age that has asked a man of any age to grab something, chances are, you have probably experienced this to some degree. 

          OK, so here’s what happened:  The other morning, early-around 6AM-my boyfriend gets up for work.  I say to him “Hey there’s no TP, so grab some before you go in the bathroom; it’s under the kitchen sink”.  Now, for those of you who don’t know me personally, I live in a small 750 ft apartment.  “Under the kitchen sink” consists of one cabinet, directly under the sink…there’s not even 2 doors.  Just one. Not 20 seconds after I disclose the location of the TP I hear “It’s not here”.

          This is basically my point.  Are you kidding me?  Like I said…one door.  Nothing confusing or hidden…just the one door.  And to top it off, its a pack of 9 toilet paper rolls…so it’s a relatively large item we’re looking for here.   Although this extreme incident could be blamed on sleepiness since it was first thing in the morning, sadly this is not an isolated incident.  Growing up with a brother and a father, and multiple boyfriends (not all at the same time 😛 ), I’ve come to realize that the probability of a boy finding something depends on a couple of key factors 1. direct necessity for his immediate use  and 2. specific details as to where the item is, what it is called, and what it looks like.  

          In the old case of the TP, since he probably didn’t need it at that moment and knew I would probably need it, and therefore get it before he needed it, it wasn’t that important to him.  Oh, and it was “hidden” behind the dish soap-you know how bulky that 6oz bottle of Dawn can be!  Had I said “Hey the TP is under the kitchen sink, its white, its located on the very left side of the cabinet in a package of 9, directly behind the green dish soap, maybe the result would have been different…maybe.  On the reverse side, I guarantee that at that moment at 6AM if it were a Redbull he was looking for, it would have been found.  Even if it were disguised in a Pepsi can and hidden in the vegetable drawer.

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on January 4, 2012, in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think partner?

