Yet another exercising faux pas…


Like many others out there that like to challenge themselves physically, pain after a workout is not something that is foreign to me.  What makes me different is that many times it’s not my muscles that are sore after a tough workout…Oh no, I like to keep things interesting.  Like the time I fell off the treadmill at the gym skinning both of my knees AND both of my palms (side note:  this was right after Christmas so you know the gym was packed with 500 fatties that made it their New Years resolution to lose 20 lbs.) or the time I peeled a layer of skin off my hand while doing “gorilla walks” at bootcamp.  If I’m not too busy tearing the skin off my body I usually have time to kill my pride during a workout- refer to what I like to call:  “The Step Class Incident”.

More recently I’ve been trying out a new boot camp, Advanced Core Training Tactics, which is similar to Cass’s Fitness Revolution (I posted about her boot camp over the summer, take a peek if you’re interested).  Anyways, so here I am at this small boot camp class of about 10 people and Eric, the instructor, pulls out the back extension machine.  If you don’t know what a back extension machine is, take a look at the picture below.  Basically, you hook your feet in and hang over the front of it and move your upper body up and down in order to work out the back.  Now, when I see that we are using this as part of our circuit, I was thrilled because I love doing it and haven’t since probably high school.  Like most things I get excited about, my enthusiasm was per-mature.  So, the music starts and I hop on the back extension machine to start my workout, but of course I because I’m rushing, I don’t hook my feet in properly…which leads me to tumble over – feet over head – when I lean my body over the front of the machine.  Of course, mid fall, I have a moment of clarity and think to myself…”wow this sucks, how embarrassing”.  As I land on the floor I look up and expect all 10 people in the class to be running towards me to make sure I’m ok.  I look around the room and no one even acknowledges my graceless acrobats.  Phew!  that makes it a little less embarrassing.  Then, as I continue my workout, I start thinking about it more and I think to myself “wait…no one even cared to make sure I was ok…psh fine, well F all of you too!” lol  I’m not sure what was worse…falling, or no one caring.  Perhaps everyone was warned already about me that I fall ALL THE TIME and its best to just ignore it.  Anyways, until the next fall…laugh it up.

 

 

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on January 12, 2012, in Exercise, Hilarious, Random Experiences, This is Me!. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think partner?

