Road Rage


There is something about driving that really makes my blood boil. Honestly, it really just makes me wonder how all of these people make it around on their own on a day-to-day basis, let alone how they manage to operate a motor vehicle.  Those of you who already know me know that my driving record is less than perfect…  Ok, I know what you’re thinking…maybe if I just calmed down a little I wouldn’t get in accidents or get tickets.  No.  That is completely untrue.  My road rage is actually the result of the above mentioned offenses.

Anyways, we’re not talking about my personal skills here; we’re talking about the skills (or lack there of) of the other drivers on the road.  So today, since I don’t have time to go through all my qualms with fellow road warriors, I’m going to focus on 3 items:  1. parallel drivers, 2. left lane drivers, and 3. asshole parkers.  As I’m sure you can imagine, there are many, many more groups of people who can cause road rage, but for today we’ll focus on these.

1. Parallel Drivers: When I drive home from work, I travel a fairly busy road with 2 lanes of traffic going in both directions.  The speed limit is 35, but since its a busy road, most people travel between 45-50.  Last night on my way home there was 2 cars traveling directly next to each other and BOTH were going 35.  This went on for at least 2 miles.  Are you kidding me!? If you’re both going the same speed can you PLEASE just get in the same damn lane?!  This also happens frequently on the highway, usually when you’re running late or in a rush.

2. Left Lane Drivers:  This is how I feel about the left lane:  If you’re traveling under 85mph, get the F out of the left hand lane.  I cannot tell you how many times I shoot over to the left hand lane so that I can get somewhere a little bit quicker and there’s some asshole in a Corolla driving exactly 65mph.  It’s especially bad when the highway isn’t even crowded.  Seriously, why do you feel that you need to be in the left hand lane and have every one pass you on your right?  The only sense that I can make out of it is that they are suffering from “road dyslexia”.  And, all I have to say about that, is:  Not my problem, get off the road.

3. Asshole Parkers:  I know for a fact that everyone has seen these guys.  You know, the pompous prick that just got a new truck or BMW, and to ensure that their car stays in pristine condition they take it upon themselves to utilize 2-3 parking spaces.  I have a brand new car, so yes, I understand wanting to keep it in its’ best state.  I also have no problem with the people who do this at the back of the parking lot, or in an otherwise vacant lot.  But the people who literally park on the meeting point of 4 spots at BigY on a crowded Sunday so that their new Silverado has a 3 foot buffer on all sides (yes this really happened)…this is uncalled for.  And to be completely honest, when I see this, I feel ever so slightly compelled to “accidentally” back into this vehicle or “unintentionally” drag my key down the side of the door when I pass, or, whoops, let the wind take control of my shopping cart’s path.

There is so, so much more that can be written about road rage and the ridiculous things that drivers to do cause other people to have it, but unfortunately, I’m out of time for today!  But trust me, there is definitely more from where this came from!

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on February 9, 2012, in Random Experiences, Ridiculous People, Road Rage. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think partner?

