Child’s Play (Part 2):


When I was a little kid, both of my parents worked.  My mom only worked part time, but during the summer that meant we still had a baby sitter in the morning until lunchtime.  For a couple of years, we had the kid, PJ, from across the street come babysit.  Most of my friends think its odd when I tell them I was babysat by a 16 year old boy when I was little, but to be quite honest, I though he was the coolest.  PJ had an awesome bright blue Jeep Wrangler with the little yellow smiley faces on the top cross bar and long hair that he would let me braid while he was watching MTV.  Better than that, sometimes he would bring his guitar over and play music for us, or let me and my sister have pillow fights (which none of our other baby sitters would let us to).  I even remember a couple times he would bring us over to his house across the street so we could pet his hamsters.   Yea, I thought all of this was pretty cool.  I think maybe because I was the oldest, I had some weird feeling that he and I were on the one team and my sister and brother were on the other.  Looking back, I thought that way for a while, until finally I was put in my place.

It was a hot summer day and I wanted to go play with the neighbor kids, but there was two things stopping me.  1). The time…my mom made a rule that we couldn’t call anyone until 10AM.  Apparently some people (and by some people, I do not mean 6 year old Erin) like to sleep. 2). We had to clean our room.  At this time, me and my sis still shared a room, which perpetually looked like a tornado just barreled through it, and it was my mother’s strict instructions that before we went out to play we had to clean it.  So there we were, me and Kate up in the room.  I was dead set on organizing things as we put them away so we would know where to find everything.  Kate, on the other hand was all for stuffing everything under the bed.  Since she wasn’t listening to my obvious rational, I was left no other choice than to call in reinforcements.  Yep, I told her. So PJ came upstairs and gently explained to both of us what we were to and then he left.  By this time, I glanced at the clock and realized it was past 10.  I had wasted so much time in the whole tattletale process that we were off schedule.  I’m not proud of what I’m about to disclose, but again, I was left no other choice.  I told Kate to just stuff everything under the beds because it was time to go play.  She was pretty easy to control at the time, being 4, so she just followed instructions. As soon as we got everything out of sight we took a couple steps down the hall to go down the stairs.  And what did I see when I turned that corner?  PJ.  He was sitting at the top of the stairs the whole entire time.  Needless to say, he had heard my entire plan and allowed Kate to go downstairs, but not me.  I had to go back to my room and do it “the right way”.

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on March 5, 2012, in Hilarious, Random Experiences, This is Me!. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think partner?

