Who, What, When, and now….Where?


I know this isn’t terribly new, but its definitely still something I’m terribly against:  checking in.  I honestly do not understand why people feel the need to share literally EVERYTHING with everyone else all the time.  It’s almost like privacy has become taboo.  Suddenly, if you’re not on Facebook, or you don’t “check in” or update your status every 5 minutes, you have become the minority.  Facebook, as long as many other smart phone applications, allow people to “check in” everywhere they go.  I’m not 100% sure because, as I mentioned, I’m not a fan and don’t participate in these activities, but I’m pretty sure that at least with some of these apps you get points for “checking in” to a place the most often or even updating your location the most often.  Are you serious?  Why would anyone want the entire world to know their exact locale all the freakin time?  “Erin has checked in Bradley International Airport”, “Erin has checked in to Red Robin”, “Erin has checked in CVS”….who the F cares!?  To me, this is one step away from having an entire camera crew following you at all hours of the day, in fact, I would not be surprised at all if Facebook’s next move was to have people wearing portable cameras all day and just having a live feed of what they are doing available on their Facebook page at all times.  I know that sounds crazy, but with our world’s, specifically, our countries, desire for completely transparent lives, I don’t think it’s out of the question that this could happen.

By all means if you have some validation for this social phenomenon that I’m missing, please let me know…I might change my mind.  I probably won’t but I might! 🙂

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on March 6, 2012, in Facebook. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think partner?

