Talk About Baby Fat…


I just heard this story, and there is no way that I can keep it to myself. There was a woman in Des Moines, IA who recently naturally gave birth to a baby weighing in at 13 lbs and 13 ounces.  For those of you who don’t already know this, the average American baby is somewhere in the vicinity of 7.5lbs in their first days of life, so as you can see, this baby is definitely extraordinary.  Asher Stewardson, who is pictured above shortly after birth, is the largest baby ever naturally born at Mercy Medical Center, in Des Moines, IA.  Mercy officials say only a tenth of 1 percent of all newborns weigh more than 11 pounds at birth.  Seriously, take a look at this kid…I think I’ve seen 6 month old kids who are smaller than he is just a few hours into his life.

Of course this got me thinking – I wonder how many other beasts like this are out there!  The world’s heaviest baby ever born was in 1879 to a Canadian.  The baby weighed 23.12lbs, but sadly passed away that same day.  Maybe because he was really about 3 months old at birth and had no air in the womb?  I don’t know.  The largest baby to survive weighed 22.5 lbs in Italy in 1955.

Although there is something to be said about cute chubby baby cheeks, I’m hoping that when I have kids they are a bit more slight than this.  Where most mothers get a couple months of carrying a baby that is 10 or less pounds, this poor lady got thrown right into lugging around a toddler!  Needless to say, she had no trouble losing any of the baby weight, as in her case, it was entirely ALL baby!

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on March 12, 2012, in Hilarious. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think partner?

