My very own solo Sunday Funday


I’m not the type of gal who is willing to sit at home and mope just because I can’t find anyone that is around to do the same activities I have my heart set on.  I mean, I’m all for group activities, but sometimes, thats just not in the cards.  That was the case for me yesterday.  Some of my friends make fun of me (yes, I know this is a recurring theme) for this, but I’d just much rather do the things I want to do – even if it means I have to do them myself – than sit at home and watch reruns of Bones and feel bad for myself.   So what did I do on this Sunday Funday?  Well let me tell you…

9:00AM:  Get waken up from by my dad calling me – he wanted advice on how to get the best tickets for that night’s NCAA Mens Hockey Northeast Regional Finals…great…now I’m up.  It was too late to go back to sleep, but a little too early to start my day on a gloomy Sunday, so I flipped on the TV and watched some SpongeBob Square Pants.  Yea, I know…but I can’t help it.  It’s so silly and funny.

10:00AM:  I not only motivated myself to get out of bed, but also to go to Church.  Since it was supposed to rain later in the day, I decided to take advantage of dry air and walk there.  It got a little dicey there for a minute, as the short-cut I took through the woods included crossing a stream, but I managed to do it without getting wet.

10:30AM:  I arrived at St. Luke’s Church just in time for Mass.  I haven’t been in a while, and it was really nice!  It was actually my first time visiting this parish, but I was warmly welcomed and am looking forward to returning.

11:30AM:  On my walk home, I decided to stop at Chuck Wagon for some coffee.  Yumm!

11:45AM:  I got home, but my boyfriend wasn’t there, so I decided to do some Yoga.  The key to yoga is to either do it alone, or do it with other yogies…doing in front of people who don’t do it is just asking to get made fun of!

1:00PM:  While waiting for my boyfriend to get home, I paid all of my bills and researched vaccums.  I might need a new one, due to a Space Bag Evolution incident during my Spring Cleaning.  I was really at a high…you know, feeling like an adult and all, when I talked to my boyfriend…unfortunately, plans to go hiking that day had to be canceled.  Stupid truck at work needed to be fixed.  Better luck next weekend when he has the whole weekend off.  (We decided to do all 50 of the hikes in my “50 Hikes in Connecticut” book this year, so time cannot be wasted!)

1:45PM:  I decided that I was not going to let this news or this gloomy day get the best of me. I called a few friends…but everyone had better things to do than hang out with me…shocking-I know.  So, I was forced to do what it seemed like every other person in Hartford County did – go to the movie theatre.

2:25PM:  I got my ticket for Friends With Kids and got my perfect seat.  Since it was just me, I was able to get whichever seat I wanted.  Actually, to be honest, it was just me in the whole theatre, so I really got to pick my seat.  The movie itself was entertaining at best.  Of course I enjoyed it because I’m a sucker for click flicks, but the plot basically boiled down to one thing:  the whole “friends with benefits” thing never works.  I do recommend it, but it’s probably a better one for a girls night or for a solo movie night – boys may want to claw their eyes out.

4:22PM:  I was leaving the movie theatre and right across the hall from Friends with Kids, The Lorax was playing.  it was set to start at 4:20PM.  The funny part about this is that I was hemming and hawing before going to the movie about which one to see (Friends with Kids or The Lorax) and I chose the first.  So when I saw this, I thought, this is fate.  This is a sign and I’d be silly to pass up this perfect opportunity.  I know it’s wrong, but going to church this morning probably canceled this out, right?  Anyways, The Lorax was so cute!  I loved it!  And not just because hottie Zac Efron was the main character.  Animated or not, I still love ’em!  Oh, and Taylor too!  Shes just adorable!  I thought this movie was great and I’m so glad I didn’t wait until DVD to see it!!

6:00PM:  Still light out, but cold, damp and gloomy…so what’s a gal to do but go shopping!  I treated myself to a few things while actually staying within my budget…SCORE!  I also stopped at the grocery store to grab my fresh produce for the week.

7:00PM:  Got home, and chopped up all my fresh fruits and veggies before putting them in the fridget.  I swear if I don’t do this, I won’t eat them and they will just sit in my crisper until they are furry and I have to throw them away.  If you have the same problem, I highly recommend doing this!  That way, its just as easy to eat a handful of cucumbers as it is to eat a handful of potato chips – and you’ll feel better too!

7:20PM:  Blog time!  I got a headstart on all my posts for this week…can’t wait for them to pop up! stay tuned…

8:00PM:  Boyfriend asked if  I want to play a game.  I’m pumped about this!  Partially because I was thinking of asking him that same exact question since somewhere in the middle of Friends with Kids, but also partially because I love winning and I was pretty sure I could kick his ass in any of the games we have.  We chose Scattergories – one of my faves!

9:00PM:  Home manicure / Ax Men.  My boyfriend loves this show – he’s a lumberjack of sorts himself – and sometimes I watch with him.  This is tough for me, because it’s at the same time as Desperate Housewives, but seeing as how he watches everything, I want to watch, and when I say everything, I mean it – you’d be surprised,  I decided, its only fair.  Plus thanks to God’s gift, aka DVR, I could catch up on the Wisteria Lane drama at 10.

10:00PM:  Desperate Housewives…what a thrill.  Even though most of the cast has been killed off, all story lines have been exhausted and there’s not a whole lot more that can be done with this show, I’m going to be sad to see it go in May.  But, I will be looking forward to the new Marc Cherry drama Devious Maids!  It wont be the same, but I’ll definitely give it a shot.

11:00PM:  Bedtime!  can’t wait for a great new week!

I don’t know if that sounds like a good day or bad day to you, but to me, it was the best I could do.  And certainly better than being penned up in my apartment all day alone.  A wise woman once told me “You Make Your Own Fun”  and you know what?   You really do.  I had a great day, and was in a great place to start out the work week on a great note!

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on March 26, 2012, in This is Me!. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think partner?

