I think I’d be a damn good farmer


Since I was a kid I always used to say that I wanted to live on a farm when I grow up.  I lost sight of that dream somewhere around age 9, but now that I’m living (more or less) on farm land, and I am constantly seeing barns, crops, and animals, the dream has reoccured.  I know farming is a very hard job, no not a job, a lifestyle, but there are a few things you should know about me.

  1. I love animals, BUT I also think I have a fairly good grasp of letting them go when it’s their time.  Ok, so I dont have a ton of experience with the later part of that statement, and may have sobbed for weeks when my parents gave my cat away when I was 15 because I “was losing my best friend”, but I would like to believe that at this point in my life I would be able to let them go when it’s their time.  I mean when you’re living on a farm, you have to know that theses animals are temporary…they are there for a purpose:  to eat food so they can produce food for you.  Once they are no longer able to do those two things, their time on my farm will be over.
  2. I’m not afraid of hard work.  In fact, I LOVE hard work. It makes me feel accomplished and proud of what I can do.  I like to push myself to my physical limits on a daily basis, and I love being sore and tired at the end of the day.  This means that a job was well done.  I understand that farmers don’t get holidays or sick days or vacations, but still the lifestyle is quite appealing to me.  To sit down at the end of each day feeling so accomplished and being able to physically see the work that has been done is such a great feeling.  PLUS – I’d save SO much money!  Instead of paying hundreds of dollars a month for boot camp, yoga, gym memberships, and races, I could work all day on my own land and get a workout better than I could imagine.  Not to mention all the money I’d save on all my fresh fruits, veggies, eggs, chicken, and beef!  Yummy!! All natural, no preservatives and grown/raised with love by yours truly.  Yes, please!
  3. I’m a fan of the all inclusive life style.  I mean I guess I’d have to get Ben on board with this whole idea, but he’s a hard worker and stronger than he looks, so it shouldn’t be that hard.  I just think it would be fun to be my own boss, and run a small farm with my family and few trusted workers!  I would like to believe that I’m fairly organized too – so I’d have no problem making sure that all tasks are taken care of in a timely manner.

So, what would I have on my farm?  Everything.  No, I take that back.  I don’t want stupid farm animals like Emus or Llamas…I’m thinking of going the more traditional route.  Of course I want a nice big farm-house with a wrap around porch.  That is essential.  Then of course, I’d want a huge barn for the cows.  I think I’d want a few black and white and few brown and white.  A fellow booney-ier recently informed me that the black cows are milk cows and the brown cows are beef cows, which I didn’t know before, and since I’d definitely want milk and meat, I guess I’d need to get both.  Then I’d need to get some pigs – hopefully I get a runt like Wilbur and he can stick around.  That would be fun.  Then I could get some sheep too – I’ve never eaten lamb, but I hear its delish.  Goats aren’t necessary, but they are pretty cute, so why not – throw a few of those in too.  I’m not going to have any horses though.  I hate horses.  They are stupid animals.  I’d also like a chicken coop.  I want a lot of chickens because I think it would be pretty easy to sell the eggs to locals, and its much easier to harvest eggs than milk or beef.  Rooster too…and hopefully it would wake me up every morning….that would be cool.  I’d also love to have 2 dogs – also essential.

For crops, I think I’d like to do all sorts of veggies and some berries.  Maybe even some fruit bearing trees.  The definites would be lettuce, carrots, corn, peppers, tomatoes, onions, potatoes and green beans.  That should do it.  Then maybe a raspberry bush, a blueberry bush, and a few strawberry plants.  I guess a Macintosh apple tree, maybe a couple pear and peach trees too.  Now I’m not saying like 5 acres of each of these – more like a little bit of everything.  To top things off, I think it would be lovely to also have a field of wild flowers.  I love, love LOVE having fresh flowers on my kitchen table, so it would be great to be able to pick them on a daily basis!

Ok, ok, so this idea is a little bit far-fetched and most likely never going to happen….I get it.  But come on, a girl can dream right?  I mean how many of you would be sitting behind a computer right now if it wasn’t paying your bills…what would you realllllly like to do with you life?  I mean don’t get me wrong, I love my job – it’s great, but wouldn’t everyone be their own boss and have their own business if they could? I know I would!  Just remember – you never get too old to dream!

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on March 27, 2012, in Random Thoughts, This is Me!. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Bethany Griffin

    I’ve always wanted a farm too, I want in on this.. but I want horses!

    Like

What do you think partner?

