1/4 Marathoners Deserve Jello Shots right?? Part I


Hello Hello!  And happy Friday to all of you!  I’m sure you are all as excited for the weekend as I am, and to help pump you up I’m going to share a story from last weekend with you.  A few months back, my bestie and I decided to register for the Greater Hartford Quarter Marathon, at the West Hartford Reservoir.  We would have loved for our boyfriends to run with us, but settled for having them as spectators to cheer us on…you can’t have it all, right?  Anyways, since we were all together anyways, we thought it would be fun to do some grillin’ and chillin’ after the race to relax and celebrate our accomplishment.

I decided that it would be a great idea make some Jell-O shots for this grillin’ and chillin’ extravagana, I mean really, who doesn’t like Jell-O shots?  But not just ordinary run of the mill Jell-O shots.  I wanted to try making the fancy-pants shots that everyone posts on Pinterest, where you use an lemon or orange rind instead of cups.  To top it off, this was my first time ever making Jell-O shots.  Yes, it is true that I graduated from UConn, and it is also true that I have downed dozens, if not hundreds, of Jell-O shots in my day, but I’ve never made them.  So, the Friday night adventure at my apartment was trying my hand in the Jell-O shot business…and I documented it so that you could live it with me…LUCKY YOU!!

Step 1:  Get your ingredients!  I actually am not a huge fan of Jell-O on its own, but I guess you can say I bend my personal preferences slightly when theres alcohol involved.   Because I don’t eat Jell-O for fun, I wasn’t sure which flavors were good, so I went with Orange and Berry Blue because I liked the colors.  For the vodski I chose Smirnoff Citris.  Smirnoff isn’t bad for cheap vodka;  it’s definitely much more tasty than the failsafe Dubra of my college years.  Finall,y I got 8 lemons to use.  8 was actually not enough for two boxes of Jell-O, but we’ll get to that later.

The Ingredients

The Ingredients

Step 2:  Scoop our your lemons!  This is super easy to do.  Just cut the lemons in half the long way, and use a spoon to scoop out all the guts.  And hey, if you have a garbage disposal, throw all the lemons down the garbage disposal;  your kitchen will smell “Mr. Clean” clean!  It’s awesome!

Scooped out lemons

Scooped out lemons

Step 3: Make the Jello as instructed…sort of. Boil one cup of water, then put it into a bowl with the Jell-O powder.  Put this into your fridge or freezer to cool it down to room temperature.  Or I guess, if you have nothing better to do, you can leave it on the counter to do this.  Once you get it cooled down, instead of putting a cup of cold water into the Jell-O mixture to complete the Jell-O mix, put one cup of vodka into the mix.  Stir.   Sorry  no pic for this one…I assume I’m the only person over the age of 8 who has neer made Jell-O before.

Step 4:  Pour the Jello into the scooped out lemons.  You can fill it right up to the top.  This is where I ran into a problem.  Since I didn’t have enough lemons for all my Jell-O, I had to get ingenuitive.  I searched my kitched and decided an empty ice cube tray was my best bet.

Jell-O in the lemons

Jell-O in the lemons

Step 5:  Put the Jell-O mixture into the fridge to congeal into delicousness.  Wait at least 3 – 4 hours before taking them out.  I let them sit overnight since I didnt need them until the morning.

Jell-O in the Fridge

Jell-O in the Fridge

Taste Test

Taste Test

Step 6:  Taste test anyone??  Yes, me and my boyfriend decided it was only right to do some taste testing.  I mean seriously, we couldn’t very well bring these Jell-O shots over to the party without knowing if they were any good!! 

OK, I know what you’re thinking…enough about the Jell-O shots, can you start talking about the race??  …Wait, what?  you don’t care about the race?  That’s weird.  Well those of you who are, stay tuned for Part II – I’ll let you know all about the race and how the Jell-O came out. 🙂

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on April 6, 2012, in Exercise, Random Experiences, This is Me!. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Ohhhh these are dangerous. My friend made them for a party once inside of oranges and limes and I was so amazed at the awesomeness that I had one (or five) too many. They’re so cool though!

    Like

What do you think partner?

