Our First Tattoos


Bathing Beauties

We were 19, and since it was summer and we all worked in restuarants we didn’t have to work during the day.  So, Liz, Stef and I decided to hop down to the beach for the day to relax in the sun.  We got to the beach wicked early…somewhere between 8 and 9am and hung out for a while, went in the water, looked at some magazines and gossiped.  But by around noon, we started getting bored.  We decided to back into the water and we started talking about what we could do for the rest of the day.  The conversation went a little like this:

Liz:  So what do you guys want to do for the rest of the day.

Erin:  We could get tatoos

Stef:  Ya!

Liz:  OK, that’s it.  We’re doing it.

Stef: …Wait…what?  Really?

Pre-Tattoo at Sacred Ink

We decided to stay in the water for a while longer and then go sunbathe and dry off and hit up the tattoo parlor on the way home.  But, of course our excitment got the best of us and we were all piled in my car within 10 minutes of having the conversation, all of us soaking wet from swimming.

We got to the tattoo parlor and gave thought to what we wanted get permanently pressed to our bodies.  We thought about it really, really hard…for about 2.5 minutes.  Then, it was go time.

Stef and I played it safe with our astrological signs.  Liz, a celtic knot.  Since it was the end of the summer and I had established all of my tan lines, I decided to get my tattoo on my hip – within my tan lines, mostly so my parents wouldn’t see it.  And let me tell you, this plan was genius because they never did…until I told my mom about it 5 years later and swore up and down that I “must have just gotten it because she would have seen it”.  Sorry mom – you are more perceptive and sneaky than most moms, but I definitely took you for a ride on that one.  I think it was at that point that she angrily explained to me that now I would NEVER get a job…oh yea?  Is that so? I won’t get hired anywhere because of the tattoo that I’ve had for 5 years that my own mother has never seen?  I doubt it.  And to this day, I’ve never been to a job interview where they’ve strip searched me for ink. 🙂

Each of us doin work!

Anyways,  It was the first tattoo for each of us.  While we all have a couple now, it was definitely a really fun day, and a memory and story we will share for a lifetime.

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on April 14, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. haha rebels without a cause

    Like

What do you think partner?

