The Perfect Saturday


BEEP! BEEP! BEEP! It was only 6:45am on Saturday morning, but I was more than ready to get up and start moving.  I had a race to run, a hike to conquer, and of course yoga to loosen my muscles after.  It’s not the way many people would like to spend their Saturday, unfortunately, but for me, its heaven!  But that’s not saying much, because if you haven’t figured it out by now, I have a few screws loose, if you know what I mean.

Me and Ben at my race.

Ben and I left the apartment around 7:45 packed with everything from running attire, to yoga mats, to a cooler full of nourishment for the day.  We got to Bloomfield for the Burn Calories For Food 10K, and I was excited.  A few weeks earlier I ran a 1/4 marathon which is 6.55 miles, and have been keeping my mileage up,so I was ready for this 6.2 race ahead of me! 

Ran into (almost literally) a friend from High School

It was a double loop, which I’m starting to really enjoy.  First lap is the “warm up/get into the groove” lap and the second lap is the “balls to the walls/get ‘er done” lap.  I finished in 51:46 by my clock, which I started when I crossed the starting line.  That time calculates out to approximately 8:20 mile pace! That’s 10 seconds per mile faster than two weeks ago! Sweet! And the best part? I got FIRST PLACE in my age group! That’s my first time winning my age group so I’m really excited about that!

To top it off, there was also the Turn Up The Heat Chili Challenge directly after the race and Ben and I were happy to be taste testers!  We got to try about 10 different kinds of chili and vote on our favorite.  I couldn’t really eat too much chili right after running, but I at least tried them all and placed my vote!

mmmmm chili...nom nom nom

Next, we made our way to Penwood State Park in Bloomfield.  We got there and it was wicked crowded, which we soon found out was because of an 50K trail run going on.  (NOTE:  I’m not going to go too much into the 50K because I’m planning on doing a whole post on it later this week, because it was awesome). Anyways, we did about a 5 mile hike,which included a pit stop for lunch and some awesome scenic views of the Farmington Valley.  Check out my Bucket List which gives more details about this hike. Yep,this was one of the ones from the 50 hikes in CT book, which WILL be completed this year.

After that we went to into Simsbury and saw the biggest tree in all of Connecticut!   It’s this Huge Sycamore called The Pinchot Sycamore, and let me tell you…it really is quite a site!  I mean out of all the trees in the whole state, this one is the biggest! Cooooool!  That’s Ben in front of the tree.  Ben has long monkey arms that span about 6 feet…so as you can see the diameter is likely over 10 feet!

On our way back into Manchester we saw a middle-aged guy with a Maserati.  Ben then states that he wishes he had his Mustang so he could get the guy “riled up”.  LOL ok, I’m not trying to be a jerk or burst any bubbles, but I have a hunch that a guy who owns a brand new Maserati wouldn’t get “riled up” by a 1992 antique mustang that isn’t even all the same color.  I don’t know this for sure, but that’s my guess.  Sorry, babe.

From there me and my love split ways.  I was going to meet up with my BFF for some power yoga, but apparently she got a better offer – going to a winery.  WTF?? Who in their right mind would choose drinking and hanging out at a beautiful winery over working out? LOL I’m just joking…I love drinking, but unfortunately all of these activities havent left much time for it lately.  Wahhhhhh!  Solo yoga it is.

No really…it was solo yoga, because even though I go to the SAME yoga studio almost every week, I still got the time mixed up.  So I went home and enjoyed the beautiful weather and practiced yoga in my yard.  Much of this practicing was Ben helping me perfect my head stand.  I want to be one of the cool people in class that can do the head stand sooooo bad.  I remember as a kid head stands were wicked easy, but apparently 20 years and a hundred pounds later balancing on the top your head is more difficult than my distant memories.

After all this work, we were STARVED, so we got cleaned up and went to West Hartford to the Elbow Room for dinner.  Although we love going there, this time wasn’t my favorite.  Our waiter was a bit over the top, which was fine, but got less and less appealing as we heard him give his “I’m so glad you came in tonight – I’m going to give you the VIP experience, you rock stars!” shpeel to each table…we thought we were special rock stars, but apparently not.

The Elbow Room, West Hartford, CT

We finally ended our day by renting the movie The Change Up and getting supplies to make ice cream sundaes.  I made it as far as ice cream sundaes, but definitely fell asleep by about 9PM, which means I missed half the movie.  How do you expect me to stay awake after eating a sundae with cookie and cream ice cream, hot fudge, reeces, gummy bears, whipped cream, sprinkles, AND of course, a cherry on top?  Plus, I was exhausted from all the fun I had all day!    I hope your Saturday was this fabulous too!

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on April 15, 2012, in Exercise, Food, Mother Nature, Random Experiences, This is Me!, Travel. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Sounds like a perfect day. Erin!

    Like

  2. Soo, I also have the 50 hikes in CT book and want to hit them all. I would say I have hit at least half so far. Let me know when you are going and I would LOVE to join you for some. I really want to take a whole day and go to Ratlum. But want to work up to it. I hiked Chauncey Peak on Saturday and would love to go on a hike weekly..if I have the time. Let me know!!

    Like

    • I wonder if we have the same book! Ours is about 25 years old so each hike is its own adventure as many of the trails, parking lots, streets, and blaze colors are either changed or no longer in existence!

      We usually go on hikes 3 – 4 times a week, so whenever you feel like going call me or benji! We missed you on Easter! We got to your mom’s too late and no one was there 😦

      We have done about 15 hikes in the book, but we “started over” in order to ALL 50 in 2012. We started the first week of March and have already done 8!! Its SO much fun! Ratlum is on the list thought. I”m a little nervous about the Devil’s Hopyard though because I know there was just a huge fire there a few weeks ago. That shall be interesting!

      Like

What do you think partner?

