Electronic Pets


Remember Tamagotchis?  I will never forget being a kid and wanting one SOOOO bad.  They were so cool!  Who wouldn’t want a digital pet that they could also attach their keys (if they had any) to.  Those Japanese are pretty smart, and I think they really were on to something with this plan:  You get your kid a digital dog – one that will probably die over night because you didn’t throw the ball for him enough or give him enough food, and when the dog dies (which is a bit of a dramatic way to talk about a fake pet, but hey, it is what it is), you, as the parent, can use that as leverage as to why you can’t get a real dog.

Anyways, like I was saying, I wanted a Tamagotchi so bad, but they were $17.99 at the time and my mom refused to buy it for me because it was too expensive.  That, and she knew that a peanut had longer attention span than I did, so she wasn’t going to waste her money.  She did, however, get me a Giga Pet, which is the generic version, but it’s just not the same.  It’s like having Fruit ‘Os instead of having Fruit Loops, they taste basically the same, and although without the box most people probably couldn’t tell the difference, YOU know it’s different, which somehow makes it not as cool.  But, you gotta take what you can get, so I dealt with having a Giga Pet.

In the end, it was probably the best decision because I don’t even know what happened to it.  I remember wanting this toy much more than I remember using the toy, or liking  the toy when I did have it.  I mean there’s only so many times that you can “pet” a fake dog before you decide that “losing” the Giga Pet is the best idea you’ve had in a while!

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on April 25, 2012, in 90's...livin the dream. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think partner?

