The Real World


So pretty much my whole life I feel like adults have always told me to enjoy being a kid while I can because someday I’ll be in the “real world”.  No, not the TV show; even my life isn’t f’d up enough to get me on that show.  Plus, my mom always advised me NOT to go on reality TV of any kind because I’d definitely be the one America loves to hate – thanks mom.  Personally, I think my show would be entertaining.  Anyways, the way they talked about the “real world”  I kind of thought that growing up and living my own life would be pretty awful. Wow, I was wrong, and thank god!

Being an adult is probably the best thing that has ever happened to me, and here’s my top ten reasons (in no particular order) why:

  1. I can be my own boss. Well I mean when I get home I am.  Maybe, just maybe it will be that way at work too one day.
  2. I can get any pet I want.  I feel like getting a hamster…done.  If I realize I just can’t live without a gecko…I can get one.  I decide I want a dog…I can go down the animal shelter right this second.  Andddd, the best part about it is that I can get all the cool toys, clothes and other pet supplies I want without having to ask anyon’e permission.
  3. I can drink.  I mean, you don’t have to be an adult to drink, but at least once you are you don’t have to worry about getting caught anymore.
  4. I can do whatever I want on my free time. Once I get home from work, I’m free to do whatever I want.  No homework, no studying, no reading….this is the life.  Ahhh TV, friends, and doing NOTHING, how I missed you!
  5. I can have my own house.  OK, I don’t have a house quite yet, but Ido  have an apartment and it’s amazing.  It’s as clean as I leave it when I leave in the morning.  Or more realistically, the mess is all mine and I don’t have to worry about getting yelled at for it.
  6. I can have money.  When you’re a kid you either are completely spoiled and have money, or you’re constantly asking your parents for money.  Either way, it sucks.  Now, I’ve got it…maybe  not a lot of it, but I do have it, and I can spend it however I want.  Plus, if I want more, its easy…alll I have to do is work more.  Isn’t it fantastic how that works?!
  7. I can travel.  And I don’t mean my family vacation to the beach.  I mean go wherever I want, when I want, and with whoever I want.  Maine for the weekend?  Let me ask my parents…o wait, I don’t have to!  Lets do this!!
  8. I can choose my own friends. I mean not that I couldn’t be friends with whoever I wanted my whole life, but now I don’t have to listen to my mom’s opinions about them.  Now THAT is awesome.
  9. I can have a real job.  One that doesn’t include the phrase “Can I take your order” or require me to work nights weekends and holidays…ahhh paid holidays  – that right there is worth being an adult for.
  10. I can do whatever I want.  This is not to be confused with any of the other reasons.  This is specific.  I can rent a car, have a beer at a bar, buy a pack of cigarettes (not that I’d want to anymore though), go see an R rated movie, watch children, have my own children, have a credit card, get approved for a loan, drive a car…and the list goes on and on.

So as you can see, there’s PLENTY of great reasons to be an adult.  Not, that you should encourage anyone to rush being a kid, but besides it being socially acceptable to throw a tantrum in the middle of Stop & Shop, you literally can still do all the things kids do while still enjoying the freedoms of adulthood.  You want to color?  buy a coloring book.  I color all the time.  OK, not all the time, but sometimes when I’m having a bad day because not to brag or anything, but I’m really good at it…haven’t gone outside the lines since about 1989.  You want to go to school – dooo etttt!  You can never have too much knowledge.  You want to be thin and have a lot of energy?  Work out and eat right!!  That’s easy!  Just because you’re an adult doesn’t mean you have to be lazy and/or boring!!  Take life by the horns and get everything out of it that you want.  When you look at kids, don’t get jealous, join right in!  They’ll think you’re cool for doing so, and you’ll be happier for following your instincts.  But hey, this is just my way of life and thinking – its not for everyone, but I do highly recommend it – its pretty awesome!

Happy Friday, and hopefully you do something magical this weekend!

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on April 27, 2012, in Random Thoughts, This is Me!. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I like and laughed with all of your reasons. With all of those reasons come with being responsible. And being responsible sometimes you can’t have your cake and eat it too. For instance…2. A Pet and 7. Travel—when you have something that is depending on you for care you just can’t leave for a weekend or more.

    Like

    • Hey Hey!! Thanks for the comment! I absolutely agree, BUT, there are workarounds! I was just up at a cabin in NH a few months ago that was completely dog friendly and I brought my family’s 2 big yellow labs. It would be more difficult to travel somewhere that you need to get a sitter for them (and I wouldn’t want to leave them all the time anyways), but you just need to work around it to make it work for you!

      It’s funny too because I was JUST thinking about that last night. I’ve wanted to get my own dog (that doesn’t live with my parents) forever, but honestly I just don’t have the time. Right now, I’m so busy with work, bootcamp, yoga, and coaching that it wouldn’t work. I mean I could make it work if I had to, but it would mean going home everyday after work to feed, and let my dog out. I think I’ll wait for that until I’m a little more tied down. Once I get to that point I wont be “giving anything up” to go straight home. I’ll want to and have to because I have a family waiting there for me.

      At any rate, thanks so much for reading!! I’m glad you enjoyed it!

      Like

  2. I catch myself laughing several times when I read through your posts … especially when you said how great of a colorer you are and how you haven’t gone outside the lines since 1989. You are a great writer Erin! Always entertaining!

    Like

    • Thank You Cherie!! I really appreciate that your read and comment! And, I’m glad you get a kick out of me…I’m not the only one anymore! haha. I’m in somewhat of a lull these days, but hopefully I can snap myself out of it and come up with some good “thoughts” to keep you and your coworkers entertained!! 🙂

      Like

What do you think partner?

