The Time I Had a Pet Praying Mantis


About 4 years ago I was freshly graduated from college and living on my own.  We weren’t allowed to have any pets in our apartment, so you can only imagine my excitement when we discovered a praying mantis who hung out on our front porch regularly.  OK, so he wasn’t technically my pet, but like a pet, he was loyal and was waiting at the door for me every day.  Each morning when I would leave for work, Timothy (yes, we named him), would be on the porch looking at me.  I would try to get close to him and though he did not hop/fly away, he would ever so slowly move over the edge of the rail as to hide himself from me.

Timothy the Praying Mantis

Seriously, how cool is that??  Here’s a couple of lesser known facts about the Praying Mantis:

  • The European Praying Mantis is Connecticut’s State bug…if you already knew that, did you also know that the Carolina Praying Mantis is South Carolina’s State bug?  There are actually about 2,000 species of praying mantis.  No joke, look it up.
  • Contrary to popular belief, it is not illegal to kill a Praying Mantis?  But that being said, why would you want to?  Although their size can be frightening to a non-bug lover, they are a “good bug”.  In fact, many farmers purchase crates of Praying Mantis to unload on their fields to eat all the pests that destroy their crops.
  • The Praying Mantis is completely harmless.  They will not bite, sting, or claw you. You can actually pick them up and play with them if you’re quick enough.

Anyways, that’s enough science for today…it is Saturday after all!  Hope you enjoyed learning about CT’s state bug!  Keep a look out for them!

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on April 28, 2012, in Manchester Love, Random Experiences. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think partner?

