My Love Affair with Instagram


I’m sure the rest of the world is way ahead of me (as usual) when it comes to instagrams, but I’m still trying to keep up.  At first, I thought it was kind of annoying…not because people were sharing random pictures from their kid in a cute dress to their dog taking a nap, but more because I thought all of the different washes and borders were cool and I  had no clue where or how they were doing it.  I felt so left out.  Then, I finally figured out that I could simply download the free app to my phone…yea I know, it took me WAYYYY to look to figure this out.  What can I say.  I started fooling around with it, editing old pictures I had, taking new ones and before I knew it, I had a whole stack of cool “new” old pictures.

Then yesterday something happened.  A friend of mine “liked” one of my instagram pictures.  Whaaa??  How did she “like” it?  Where did she see it?  You can imagine my continued surprise…and embarrassment, when I realized that many of my friends were “following” me on instagram. I had no clue you could do this…so yea…all of those self-portraits I took to get the one good one (where I dont look any less weird than normal, but it was the best I could do)….yea my “followers” must have seen all of those and thought “OMGGGG why is she taking so many pictures of herself?” Like I think when I see a friend’s photo album on Facebook entitled “me”.

I totally felt like “Big Brother” was watching me, and although I should have known this was how it works, of course, as usual, I was missing a piece of key information.  How embarrassing.  But, anyways, now that I know what is going on with all of this, feel free to jump on the bandwagon and see all the silly pics I thought no one but me could see…my username is mackadoo3314

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on May 2, 2012, in Random Thoughts, Ridiculous People, This is Me!. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. bahaha erin! same thing happened to me!
    then i deleted instagram because…just too much social media, ya know? and i dont even twit. or tweet? whatever it is!

    Like

    • Hannah, when I realized what was really going on, I was sitting at my desk at work…all by myself. I literally think my face went completely red (while I was alone) and I was just thinking….OMGGGG whaaaaaatt?? wow…everyone that “follows me” must think i’m SOOOOO full of myself (which considering that i was taking multiple self-portraits, i guess I am to a point) but I mean, I was going to delete them…I honestly didn’t think anyone could see those! Good thing I didn’t use instagram to take my “before” pics for p90x BAHAHA

      PS – you and frannypants looked so gorg for your sister’s wedding! I look forward to seeing more pictures!!

      Like

      • Haha! Before pictures of your body would have been so embarrassing that it was funny. Right?!
        Thanks! I will post more when I get some!

        Like

      • Honestly it would have been so embarrassing that I probably would have just posted them all on my blog….better just to rip that band-aid off than to have a few people discover them each day for a month! lol LUCKILY that did not happen! PHEW!

        Like

  2. How did you not know everyone could see your pictures lol This cracks me up.

    Like

What do you think partner?

