Bathroom Etiquette


This is something that really bothers me and actually affects me on a daily basis.  Whenever I go to use the bathroom, I always knock on the door because I know that it’s a single stall bathroom and I don’t want to walk in on some poor person squatting if I can avoid it.  Now this should be a pretty cut and dry situation with one of two results.  Either A) no one says anything and therefore you can just go right in and take care of your biz, or B) someone is in there and they notify you by saying something, which in case the knocker would gladly wait patiently.   From time to time I run into result A, but rarely do I run into result B.  Actually I’d say 8 out of 10 times that I knock on the door, no one says anything, but then I go to open the door and it’s locked.  OK, so there’s someone in there.  Would it kill ya to say something?  I was courteous enough to knock on the door, could you please be courteous enough to say something?  A simple “occupied” would work.  Other responses that I would use include, but are not limited to “someone’s in here”, “one second”, or “I’ll be right out”.  Any of these would work and would make the person on the outside of the door aware that someone is in there and would prevent that person from trying to get into the bathroom and ultimately look like a creeper.  I mean come on, I’m going to wait outside the door for you to come out so it’s not like you’re not going to see me.

My mom taught me this etiquette at a very early age, and besides the fact that my mama’s always right (well I mean except of course for when I’m right), it just makes sense…doesn’t it?

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on May 8, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I have a few pet peeves about bathroom etiquette or lack of too. Being a guy, one that gets my goat, you may not be familiar with. Some guys think their aim is so good that they do not need to lift the U-shaped seat. Just because there is no front on the seat doesn’t mean you won’t hit the sides. All they need to do is use their foot to lift the seat. Sometimes guys have to sit on the toilet. Nothing worse than seeing a mess on the seat…Lazy people.

    Like

    • I’ll tell ya what….I’m not a guy, no. But, I was traveling this past weekend and at a rest stop I literally looked in 5 (I’m not exaggerating, it was really 5) stalls before I found a toilet without pee all over the seat. People are so inconsiderate!

      Like

  2. I hate single stall bathrooms for this exact reason alone. I refuse to use them in public. Like Starbucks. Always a single person bathroom. I refuse!

    Like

    • LOL I loveeee single stall bathrooms, but I just can’t stand when people dont let you know they are in there! Oh, and the other thing that is TERRIBLE about the single stallers is that if the person before you blows it up and then you go in, OF COURSE there is going to be someone (most likely that you know) waiting to use it after you and no matter what you say, you know they think it was you! HAHA

      Like

What do you think partner?

