If you grew up in the late 80s and early 90s like I did, the sweater shown here probably looks like something you had in your closet at one time.  And, you probably wore it with some stirrups and keds…while singing along with Right Said Fred’s I’m Too Sexy.  It was really popular at the time…it’s similar to today’s legging/long shirt look, even closer now that neons are “back in”, but there is one big, stiff difference.  Shoulder pads.  Out of all of the outrageous fashions that have crossed my path in my 26 years shoulder pads are one thing I will never understand.  Who was the genius that decided they should take a delicate woman and transform her into an offensive tackle?!

It just seems like women are always trying to look smaller, so I’m not really sure where this idea came from.  So I did some research…apparently in the 80’s shoulder pads became a defining fashion statement, similar to the length of the point on stilettos in the early 1900’s (I’ll talk about that another day).  This  came to be known as “power dressing”.  Those who had the best pads had the best status.

I’m not really sure what I think about this one…All I do know is that when I was a kid I had a few sweaters with shoulder pads in them and I absolutely refused to wear them until my mom finally cut them out.  See, even back then I knew what was up.  Just sayin!

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on May 17, 2012, in 90's...livin the dream. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think partner?

