Grocery Store Anxiety


I‘m not sure if this is something that anyone else has every experienced, but if I had to guess, I would assume that there are some annoying Type-A people out there like myself that want to pull their hair out given the following situation.

When I go to the grocery store I go equipped.  I have a list, and it’s organized.  The items listed go from the left of store (at the Deli) to the right of the store (at the freezer aisle) – this is obviously the most logical and practical way to shop.  RARELY do I have an impulse buy at the grocery store, but when I do it’s at the checkout aisle…COME ON…just try to tell me you don’t want to know if Jennifer Aniston is FINALLY getting married or having a kid!

Additionally, I bring my own bags…that is where it gets stressful.  I hate when other people bag my groceries.  I purposely go to a line where there is not a bagger posted up if possible.  When there is a bagger I almost always tell them to “hold on because I have my own bags”, but then sneakily just start putting my groceries in my bags by myself, hoping that they’ll get the hint that I don’t their help.  I’m not proud of it, but there have been a few incidences where I’ve actually asked…no, not asked, just flat-out told to stop the bagging process…and I may or may not have proceeded to unbag the food they’ve already bagged and resituate it into the “right” bag.

Ahhh…I can’t help it!  I’m not trying to be a complete asshole, but I just don’t really want my bread to packed underneath the gallon of milk, or my chicken to be in the same bag with my fresh produce, or my 3 boxes of pasta to be in three different bags with various other items.  None of those things make any sense.  The absolute worst part of this is that the bagger is inevitably either a 85-year-old woman who is probably sweet as pie, but unfortunately due to her “life experience” is as slow as molasses, or some 16-year-old kid who has literally only worked 2 days in his whole life and just doesn’t “get it” yet.  So, since I can’t really get angry with people on either end of that spectrum because they are probably doing the best they can, I just try to forgo the whole situation.  In fact, when I put my rose-colored glasses on, I can see that I’m not being mean to these employees by not letting them bag my groceries, but rather I’m giving them a break from all their hard work…after all they do need to gear up for the rest of their shift!

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on May 24, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. You crack me up! I always have an organized list too but, I will wait for a line that has a bagger. I only use the self checkout lanes if I have a few items. When shopping for 5 people I have a full cart. I don’t even have stuff out of my cart in time for me to bag my own items. I group, strategically, my like things together. All my cans of veges are next to each other. My cold stuff is together. My frozen stuff is placed on the conveyor in the same pile. All of my raw meat is together. Then the last thing I take out of my cart are the eggs and bread. I use a few coupons but, I am not an extreme couponer. My weekly total is usually between $150-$200. If I were to bag my own stuff I would be there all night. And My cashiers never smash or cross contaminate stuff. I love reading your posts…mwah!

    Like

    • Thanks!! I appreciate that you read it! I’m glad you go with a plan too! I dont know what it is but I’m super anal about my grocery trips…i dont even really like going with other people because they just slow me down HAHA!!

      Like

  2. I don’t know if you have an Aldi around you, but they don’t even have baggers in order to save money. Problem solved.

    Like

What do you think partner?

