Update from JT Farm


If you’ve been following along throughout the Spring, you probably have noticed I have a borderline obsession with the sheep on my street.  I can’t help it!  They are so darn cute and cuddly, and though I have tried to get out of my car on more than one occasion to get a closer look, they always run away.  There is a new development on JT Farms, though.  The sheep are now gone and there a lots of goats.  Regular sized goats, baby goats, and one big fat one that seems to always escape the enclosure and gets to the other side where the grass is really greener.  He doesn’t seem to want to run away…he only appears to want to have the choice pick of grass instead of eating off the hay pile like the rest of them.

Anyways, I noticed the other day one of the big goats giving one of the little goats a lesson.  It looked like the animal version of  “Billy Goats 101 for Dummies”.  Basically what happened is that the little nugget goat went up on his back legs and the big goat would put her head down and the little goat would slam down to head butt her.  The pair repeated this sequence about 3 times before they realized they were being watched-once they realized they had an audience they got stage fright.  I sincerely think a lesson was being taught.  Check out how cute these little babes are!

This is what goats do during the day…lucky little bastards.

Now, as for where all the cutesy little lambs went…I’m not sure.  I’m going to pretend that they were not included as inventory in the “Lamb, Beef, and Eggs for Sale”.  Who knows, maybe they are just getting their wool sheered off…it is pretty hot out there to be wearing a wool sweater for crying out loud!  I will await their return!  I do miss the sheep, but I can also appreciate that the goats aren’t as skittish…in fact, by the way they posed so regally for my photo shoot, I think they downright liked me!

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on May 30, 2012, in Mother Nature, Random Experiences, Random Thoughts, Travel. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I understand the sheep obsession! I ran all over Ireland trying to pet a sheep. I finally did, but in Scotland. Sheep there are so much friendlier. Then, when I came home and went through customs, they asked if I had touched any livestock. I said no. I didn’t want to get quarantined or something.

    Like

    • LMAO!! That is so funny!! Was the one you pet in the wild? How was it? Isn’t the wool kind of gross while it’s on them? LOL so many questions!

      Like

      • It was kind of the wild, I guess. I mean, I’m sure they belongned to someone, but they were just hanging out in a field, like a really big petting zoo! The wool wasn’t too dirty or gross, maybe they just had a shower. The weird thing about the sheep in Ireland is that the farmers spray paint them to identify them. So you’ve got all these punk looking sheep walking around with blue, red or green spray paint on their back!

        Like

      • Yes yes!! I saw that when I was there!

        Like

  2. Haha! Your goats totally posed for your photo shoot. How come they get a photographer and I don’t?! Damn goats!

    Like

  3. I just nominated you for the one lovely blog award. And….I posted a picutre on there just for you! It doesn’t say “This is for Erin” but I think you’ll figure it out! 😉

    Like

What do you think partner?

