Finding Peace in Yoga


  I have been doing p90x and since the yoga x is painfully boring I decided to go to my Bikram yoga joint this morning and it was amazing.  I haven’t been in a while, and it was like meeting up with an old friend.  When I walked through the door, there was a new teacher standing at the table who I had never met before.  Her name was Mahara and she had a “gypsie” look about her.  She was older, wearing a sheer skirt over her costume, had orange curly frizzy hair held together by a bedazzled “claw” clip, and dark eye liner and rose pink lipstick.  I’ll be honest, I was a bit skeptical of her at first, but once she started the class I felt completely at ease.  Unlike many other Bikram instructors, she mixed in some stories with the commands, and focused us on finding peace and serenity in our practice.  I found her methods very relaxing and before I knew it I had a song playing in my head that I haven’t heard or thought about in years:  Let The Be Peace On Earth, which goes a little something like this (and this is from memory, so don’t kill me if it’s a bit off…it’s still the jist).

Let there be peace on earth,

And let it begin with me.

Let there be peace on earth,

The peace that was meant to be.

With God as our Father,

Brothers all are we,

Let me walk with my brothers,

In perfect harmony.

It kept playing over and over again in my head, and along with the words that Mahara was saying, it got me thinking.  If you don’t believe in god, or are not religious, you can take that one simple word out of this song and still completely adhere the message to your daily life.  Today try to do something, even if its something very small to lessen the burden of someone else.  This could be holding the door for someone coming behind you, listening to someone without checking your phone while they are talking, or letting something merge into your lane even though they waited until the last minute.  Although you may forget you even took the 2 seconds out of your life to do it, little things like these could make a huge difference in person’s life, you have no idea what battle they are fighting.

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on June 6, 2012, in Random Thoughts, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. i remember this song. damn!

    Like

What do you think partner?

