Rooting for the Underdog


I coach track and though I vowed I wouldn’t write about the kids on my teams, no matter how funny or wild they get, I can’t resist sharing this story.  You may need to refer to the diagram below in order to completely understand.

Ok, so last night we had a track meet.  Both of the teams I coach were there as well as two other teams.  During the 800 meter race (which is 2 times around the track) I was bouncing between the start/finish line and the 100/500 meter mark so that I could cheer on and encourage my kids as much as possible.  Of course I was cheering on and encouraging kids from all the teams (seeing as how they are mostly all under 10 years old), but was mostly focusing on my two teams, since I knew all of their names.  So after the last kid on my team crossed the 500 meter mark, I started walking straight across the infield to get to the finish link to see my kids finish up the race.  I was mostly focused on getting over to the finish line in time, when I feel a tug on my jacket.  I turned around and it was a little kid from another team.

“Hey, I’m next, you gotta go back” He tells me.

Confused, I said “what?”

“I’m next! You have to go back over there to cheer for me!” He clarifies as he points to the spot where I just came from (red circle), and starts to run back to the spot on the track where he came from (purple circle), of course not without turning around a few times to make sure that I was going back over there and pointing a few times to give me extra instruction.  He started jogging very slowly to give me a minute to get back over there, and once I was there and started cheering he picked up his pace.

Yes, this kid literally came off the track ran about 20 yards out onto the infield and met up with me where you see the star to let me know he was “next” and that I needed to make it back over to the 500 meter mark to cheer for him!  Honestly, it was one of the funniest and most random things I had ever seen in my entire life and I was more than happy to go back to cheer for him, especially since he appreciated it so much!

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on June 7, 2012, in Exercise, Random Experiences. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think partner?

