Jock Jams


So recently I started listening to the “Jock Jams” station while doing my p90x workouts, and almost immediately I became OBSESSED.  In fact, I like it so much I’ve been listening to Jock Jams all day at work recently too.  It’s such fun music that really pumps you up.  You gotta love the classics like Technotronic’s Pump This Jam and 2 Unlimited’s Get Ready For This. Then of course there’s other great hits that you can’t help dancing to, even when you’re sitting like 69 Boys’ Tootsie Roll, and Quad City DJ’s C”Mon ‘N Ride The Train.   Luckily the train dance is pretty easy to do even while sitting.  I even get taken back to the good ‘ole days of 5th grade socials with gems like Freak Nasty’s Da’ Dip.

I do have one qualm with this station though.  They don’t know where to draw the line.  All of the above mentioned songs and artists really pump you up and make you want to work hard.  Somewhere along the line this station got confused and started sticking in music by Michael Jackson and the Allman Brothers.  While I enjoy both of these artists, they are not exactly what “pumps me up”. I mean really, when was the last time you heard Black or White and said to yourself “you know what, I suddenly have a ton of energy to complete a plyometrics workout”??

Luckily these songs come on less frequently than the REAL Jock Jams, but Jesus, when they do, I feel the same way that I did when I went on a 7 mile run and my iPod seemed to ONLY play Sara Bareilles…

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on June 27, 2012, in 90's...livin the dream, Exercise. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I am listening to the station now at work on Pandora. I will try anything once, twice, well sometimes I never learn, but so far so good.

    Like

  2. I listen to “80’s Dance Party” station quite often. I think I told you that already? Either way- Iove it!

    Like

What do you think partner?

