Seneca Harbor Wine Center, Another Wakings Glen Gem


On our way out of NY a few weekends ago, we walked around the down town area.  As we were walking I saw the Seneca Harbor Wine Center.  I thought “hey I’ll go in and grab a bottle of wine from the Finger Lakes Region since I wasn’t able to do any tasting this weekend.

So I go inside and walk around looking for the perfect bottle to bring home as a souvenir.  I came across this one bottle called “Chocolate Lab”.  Instantly I was drawn to that because A). I’m a HUGE dog lover and the puppy on the label was adorable, and B). My parents have 2 labs, yellow labs, but labs none the less.  It wasn’t two seconds after I saw that bottle that I noticed they had a sign up that said “Tastings all Day”.  So I asked the woman how much the tastings were .  “Free”.  Free?!?  Are you kidding me?  I’ve been to probably a dozen wine tastings in my life and all of them cost something…most were only $5 or $7, but they cost something for the 3-5 wines you were sampling.  So, when this woman said the tasting was free, I figured it was less like a traditional wine tasting where they tell you about the wine and swish it all around etc etc, and more like when you’re at the deli and the deli clerk gives you a slice of cheese, so I tell her I’d like to try the Chocolate Lab.  She replies with “Ok, would you just like to try the Chocolate Lab or would you like a full tasting?”  Ummm does a bear shit in the woods, OF COURSE I’d love the full FREE tasting!

It was at this point that Ben made his way inside, I thought maybe I could sneak this one under the radar (since he doesn’t drink wine and would be bored while this whole hoopla is going on) but no such luck.  Thankfully though, he was a good sport and even partook in part of the tasting with me.  Yes, only part.  Why?  well one of us had to drive home…for the full tasting, they gave us 14 different wines!  I couldn’t believe it!  I mean that was even a better deal than shopping at Kohls!

After all was said and done we ended up purchasing not one, but three bottles of wine!  Trust me, we didn’t want to get so many, but they were all so good it was honestly hard to limit it at that!  The three we got were :

-Chocolate Lab
-Peach Chardonnay
-Blackberry Merlot

I’m not usually a Chardonnay drinker, normally it makes me feel like smacking my lips like that little blonde girl that used to be in the grape juice commercials, but this one is quite delightful!  We also go the Chocolate Lab to mix with the Blackberry Merlot!

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on July 31, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think partner?

