Project Cookbook Cabinet Clear


It’s 2012 and these days the most common and easiest way to figure out what you’re going to eat for dinner is by “googling” it or checking out the ever-popular Pinterest to see what delicious eats your friends are pinning. This is what I have been doing for the past few years, but something happened recently that made me change my mind on this.  I was home one night watching TV when the movie Julie and Julia, where Julie cooks her way through Julia Child’s famous Mastering The Art of French Cooking cook book came on E!.  It made me remember that when I got my first apartment my mom got me my first cook book:  Better Homes and Gardens Cook Book.  I love cooking, so I decided to dust the cobwebs off my good ole fashion cookbook start looking up some recipes and make them…hey maybe I’d even make all of the recipes in there…some day.

Where to start though?  I didn’t have anything specific in mind that I reallllly wanted to cook, which brings me to “Project Cookbook Cabinet Clear”.  As part of my decision to try out lots of new recipes in conjunction with trying to save more money, I decided that I’d use all of the food I already had as starting points to all the meals  only buy food at the grocery store as needed.  To start, I took one item that I had in my home already and looked it up and see where that took me.  So I looked up Swordfish, which I had in my freezer.  I came across a recipe for blackened swordfish and hominy rice.  For those of you like me who don’t know what hominy is (I actually googled it before I went to the market so I wouldn’t look like a complete idiot) it’s a type of canned corn.   To my delight, this recipe came out delicious!  Both Ben and I really enjoyed it.  I have never actually had swordfish before, so I’m glad I didn’t taint my view of this fish with my novice cooking skills. The swordfish had a spicy rub on it, and was delicious, and the hominy rice, though maybe a little bit too spicy, was also great with sausage, lots of veggies, and brown rice.  Meal one was a success.

From there on out I’ve been trying to be creative in using the food I have already in my apartment…garlic bread hot dog rolls anyone?  Can I interest you in a chicken and veggie stir fry made from scratch?  My newest endeavor came this weekend when mom asked me to go apple picking with her.  I LOVE apple picking, and I LOVE fresh apples, so of course I went.  But to my dismay, when I got home I realized I already had a crisper full of apples…what’s a gal to do with 40 apples?  So again, I took out my handy dandy cook book and looked up apples.  I know what you’re thinking “Apple pie for everyone!”.  The thought crossed my mind, but with the amount of sugar and butter put into each pie, I thought I’d at least try to find something a little bit healthier.  So I landed on Apple Bread.

I didn’t just land on apple bread and make one loaf though…I made 4.  Go big or go home, right?  That’s my philosophy…and four loaves of apple bread later, I still have a crisper that is mostly full of fresh apples.  So, as much as I was trying to avoid it, I do foresee a hot apple pie in my near future.  Hey, you only live once!

 

Get some beer to go with your food! YUMM!! Check it out!
CraftBeerClub.com-Join the club!-468x60 banner

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on September 25, 2012, in Food, Random Experiences and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think partner?

