Let’s Hurry Up and Get Outta Here! I Robbed This Place Blind!


I would never call myself a a “shopper”.  Growing up I had a neighbor/best friend that had TONS of clothes that would eventually be passed off to me, and a sister that LOVED shopping (not to mention the fact that she worked at Old Navy for 8 years so she had 8 years worth of employee-discounted clothes from Old Navy, Gap, and Banana Republic).  Getting “new clothes” consisted of a once or twice a year shopping spree on my own sprinkled in with a few Christmas/Birthday gifts from my mama and hand-me-downs from from my friend(s)/sister.  I’ve never poo-poo’d hand-me-downs…In fact, I almost prefer them to things that are brand new.  When they are given to you used, they are already broken in and soft.  Not to mention the fact that they were free so if you spill something on them (which you would if you were me) it’s not as big of a deal.

Yes, I would never call myself a shopper…until about a year ago.  I don’t know what happened to me or where this came from but within the past year I have shed most of my old clothes and really went buck wild filling my closet back up.  I’ve joined a JustFab.com a monthly shoe/accessory club, got an Ann Taylor Loft card (God, help me) and got a a Kohls card…I’m a whole new woman.  Though I’m spending much more money than before on clothing/accessories, before being no money at all, I still am doing better than most because I’m a bargain shopper, and damn proud of it!  If it’s not on the clearance rack, I’m probably not interested.  I like to try on pretty much everything in my size on the clearance rack because some of these items look much better on you than on they do on the hanger, which is why the end up with the other misfit clothes.  You can really find some diamonds in the rough if you’re willing to mine!

This past weekend, my mom, my sister, and I went to Clinton Crossing, an outlet mall about an hour from where we live, and my mom was generous enough to give my sister and I each a $100 budget.  While my sis perused the full price items she was able to get a couple shirts and a pair of cords before she hit her budget, and then ended up coming in way over.  I, on the other hand, hung around the clearance racks and discovered some really great finds, if I do say so myself!  I thought I better show you, because I’m pretty damn proud of my thriftiness.

Gap:

White and Neon Yellow Stripes

White and Neon Yellow Stripped T-Shirt.
Originally $24.99, I paid $1.78
(savings: $23.21; 92%)

Colbalt Blue Pencil Skirt

Colbalt Blue Pencil Skirt (great for summer or winter w/ tights).  I actually bought this one in 2 sizes…you know “in case I lose weight! 🙂 )
Originally $49.99, I paid $1.18 x2 – so 99.98 and 2.26 respectively
(Total Savings: $97.62; 98%)

Cream and Peach Mini

Cream and Peach Mini (great for summer or winter w/ tights).
Originally $49.99, I paid $1.18
(Total Savings: $48.81; 98%)

Blue Suede Flats w/ Zipper

Blue Suede Ballet Flats with Green Zipper
Originally $29.99, I paid $8.99
(Total Savings: $21.00; 70%)

9 West:

Maroon Suede Pumps

Maroon Suede Pumps
Originally $69.99, I paid $24.99
(Total Savings: $45.00; 62%)

J.Crew:

Polka Dot Pencil Skirt

Black and White Polka Dot Pencil Skirt
Originally $85.00, I paid $23.99
(Total Savings: $61.01; 72%)

Scottie Sweater

Tan 3/4 Sleeve Sweater with Scottie Dog
Originally $78.00, I paid $23.99
(Total Savings: $54.01; 69%)

Neon Yellow Belt

Neon Yellow Skinny Belt
Originally $39.99, I paid $8.99
(Total Savings: $31.00; 78%)

So All in All with my nine items, at original cost (including tax) the price tag reads:  $508.28.  With all my discounts, I was able to squeak by at $102.38.  If you were wondering, that is a $405.90 savings!  HOLLER!  So, per usual, I am very pleased with the outcome of my shopping spree and look forward to wearing my new cute outfits!

Also, a special thanks to my mom for the special treat! 🙂

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on January 8, 2013, in This is Me! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think partner?

