Every Good Day Starts With A Good Breakfast


Lately I’ve been trying to eat healthy (It’s January 10th, isn’t everyone??), but I’m having problems finding something that keeps me full until lunch.  I get up around 5AM and work out, then eat breakfast (usually something like oatmeal, protein shake, or eggs) and then don’t eat lunch until 12:00-12:30…by then I’m STARVING.  In reality I’m starving by 10, but I usually get a coffee around then so my body knows that I’m not actually dying!  Today I decided to try out a new breakfast that is a spin on the old classic:  pancakes!

I started out with 1 scoop chocolate protein powder, 1 egg, 1/2 cup bisquick, and 1/2 cup milk.  (I basically used the regular pancake recipe, but I cut the egg and milk in half, and only used 1/4 of the recommended bisquick – then added in my protein powder to make up the difference).  I also added in a cup of sliced strawberries.  You could add butter, syrup, chocolate chips, etc., but I kept it simple because I’m trying to stay health conscious.

ingredients

Then I mixed all these ingredients together.

mix

Once they were mixed together smooth I spooned them onto my griddle.  (while they were cooking I sliced up my strawberries!)

pancakes

And Voila!   Chocolate Protein Pancakes with strawberries on top!

after

No added sugar, no butter, no syrup, yet still DELICIOUS and very filling!  We’ll see how far this gets me in the day because these are so quick and easy they may have to become a staple!

I’ve listed the nutrition information below.  For someone like me that has already burned some calories in the morning and still needs to make it to lunch, this is the perfect amount of fuel! 🙂

Calories:  440

Fiber:  5.5 grams

Protein:  36.5 grams

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on January 10, 2013, in Food, Recipes, This is Me! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Yum! Great determination on your health plan! As a nutritionist, I’d just add a little fiber mid-morning and you won’t be quite as hungry at noontime because fiber allows insulin to be released more slowly into your system. Keep successfully going toward your goal!!

    Like

    • Thanks Ellie! Do you recommend anything specific?

      Like

      • Well you seem to be very creative so how about making your own trail mix? A good flavorful Kashi cereal (like Heart to Heart Warm Cinnamon), some walnuts or almonds, raisins, cranberries or other dried fruit, even add a few dark chocolate pieces if desired. Or perhaps some Triscuits or an apple with a small amount of peanut butter.Dannon Natural or Mt. High Yogurt with fresh blueberries or strawberries is a great combination of fiber with protein which will last in your system for a couple of hours. Or roll up one of those great pancakes and stuff it with a high fiber fruit like strawberries. Gotta stop, I’m geting hungry now myself!!! Just have fun with it – you’ll be successful!

        Like

      • Great! Thanks! I do LOVE trail mix, however, I find that its really easy to eat way too much of it, so I generally try to steer clear (same thing with nuts!). I could make some, though and portion it out so its a quick “grab and go” snack to stick in my purse! Do you think I could make something like trail mix and freeze it and take it out as needed?

        Like

  2. Yeah! You’re starting to think and take control by yourself! That is exactly what I would recommend – make a batch, place in snack bags and freeze. It’s the old “out of sight, out of mind” trick! Take only one to work when you need it.

    If you are losing control, then it isn’t a physical food problem it’s a physiological or pyschological problem (that’s not meant to be a put down) Try to understand why it means so much to you and you can’t stop eating it. OR your brain might be telling you you are a “quart low” on an important mineral like magnesium or potassium or something. like B vitamins. That’s what is so exciting about the journey of weight loss! Don’t worry, you’ll succeed.

    Oh and I just got back on to say thank you for following my blog, it’s an honor, – didn’t mean to talk your ear off, haha. I love it when my followers ask questions.

    Like

What do you think partner?

