DIY Wall Art!


I’m a girl, so naturally I’m all over Pinterest.  It seems like no matter what you search for online these days, somehow you end up at Pinterest…and at that point, you minaswell kiss the next couple hours good bye because thats about how long you’re going to spend pinning outfits you’ll never actually wear, work outs you’ll never actually do, and recipes you’ll never actually make.  That’s how it is for me anyways.  Well a few weeks ago, on a rainy Saturday, I decided to prove myself wrong and do one the DIY projects I had pinned.  I recently redid my living room with all new furniture, but the walls were still pretty bare, so I wanted to make this awesome wall hanging to take up some space.

Basically, what it is is crayons adhered to a canvas and then melted down.  So I went to the craft store and bought a canvas and acrylic paint – all the other stuff I had around the house.  For this project you need:

  • Canvas – whatever size you’d like
  • Crayons – go for Crayola…I’ve heard that the cheaper waxy ones don’t work as well.  (lucky for me I had a next-to-new pack in my closet)
  • Spray Adhesive
  • Blow Dryer (or a heat gun would work too)
  • Acrylic Paint (if you want to paint a design).  I’ve heard that a black permanent marker does the trick too, but when I tried it, it had a weird shine to it that I didn’t like.
  • Paint Brush
  • Lots of drop clothes!!!

crayon art supplies

Actually creating the piece is rather easy, however, can be quite time consuming depending on the size of your canvas.

  • If you’re going to paint a design, do that first.  The acrylic paint wont take super long to dry, but it’s best to get that out of the way so you don’t have to wait to melt the crayons later.  By the time you finish unwrapping crayons and gluing them on the canvas, the paint should be dry enough to move forward.
  • Take all the wrappers off the crayons.  This is the most time consuming part!  Luckily there was a Jersey Shore Marathon on when I was doing this part…otherwise I might have gotten a bit bored!  I ended up finding it easier to slice down the label with a knife instead of peeling each individually.
  • Line the crayons up in whatever order you want them and measure out that you have enough to cover the top of the canvas.  If you don’t have enough crayons to line the top of the canvas, don’t worry!  You can simply break some of the crayons you have and add them in as needed.
  • Spray the top of the canvas with the spray adhesive.  Trust me, this works the best.  I initially tired to use a glue gun, but it turns out you can’t hot-glue wax (doy!).  Thought I didn’t think of that before hand, it was pretty easy to comprehend when it didn’t work.  Luckily I had some spray adhesive on hand from a prior task.  I used 3M Supper 77 Multipurpose Adhesive.  Let that sit for 30 – 90 seconds to thicken and get tacky.
  • Apply crayons across the top, while canvas is laying flat.  Let it sit there for about 5 minutes to dry completely.
  • Set up LOADS of drop clothes, newspaper, plastic…whatever!  I’m telling you, I didn’t do this my first time around, and I’m STILL cleaning up stray spats of random wax.  It’s crazy how much that stuff flies!
  • Stand canvas up (I just leaned mine against a wall) and use the blow dryer to melt away the crayons.  NOTE:  if you hold the blow dryer on one spot for too long, the crayons will melt off the canvas.  So, make sure that you are evenly distributing the heat.  If you do have a suicidal crayon, no big deal…just pick it up quickly and stick that puppy back on the canvas.  The wax of the crayon should stick it right back to where it goes…just give it a minute before you apply more heat.
  • Continue with the heat until you achieve your desired dripage…and that should do it!  Pretty much as soon as you stop blow drying the crayons they should harden up enough within 2 – 3 minutes for you to hang up your handy work and enjoy!

*On mine, I drew a peace sign, and in order to make it look like the crayons were dripping around the peace sign, I used a mixing bowl.   Yes, the bowl got wax on it, but it comes off really easily after you let it harden…and yes, it was a pain in the a$$ to hold the bowl on the canvas, still, and in one place, but the wax dries quick, so it wasn’t really so bad.

crayon artMy picture is darker because I had to take it with my stupid phone, and it was night time, but I think it came out really cool.  Now I’m pumped up to do more crafts!  Stay tuned til next time! 🙂

Thanks for reading! xo

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on January 11, 2013, in This is Me! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think partner?

