It’s Been a Hard Day’s Night…And I’ve Been Working Like a Dog


It has been cold here in CT this week.  No, cold isn’t the word.  It has been freezing.  Temps have been in the single digits and teens all week dropping below zero at night.  OK, it’s no Minnesota or Alaskan Frontier winter, but still, its freaking cold, and let me tell you a quick story about that:  I’m not cut out for it.  So Since it was 6 degrees  when I left for my first job in the morning, about 12 degrees when I was commuting between jobs, and 9 degrees when I left job two to go home for the night “looking forward to my heat” is an understatement.  No really, when I left my apartment around 6:30AM there wasn’t even frost on my windshield.  I’m just gonna go ahead and say that if it’s too cold for Jack Frost, it’s too cold for erinHasThoughts.  It was so cold in the evening, that the contact solution in my contact case, which I left in the car for 3 hours was completely frozen when I opened it after work.

Cold Weather TalkSo I finally get home around 10 and my apartment is chilly.  It was about 60 degrees, which trust me, is tropical compared to the outdoors, but still pretty chilly, so I cranked up the heat and popped on the TV.  I was still freezing so about 25 minutes later I went to check the thermostat again…58 degrees. Wait, how is it possible that I turned my heat UP, yet it’s getting colder in here. I decided maybe, just maybe, the heat needed a little extra help since it was so frigid outside to I bumped up the temp one more time.  I checked again about a half hour later…57 degrees.  OK  this is NOT cool.  Of course this would happen to me.  Come on!  Let my air conditioner break in the middle of August I’ll be fine, but please, PLEASE don’t take away my heat!  What, are you trying to kill me or something!?

Now don’t get me wrong, I know how lucky I am to have a home and shelter, but this ain’t no warming station, this is an apartment that I pay a lot of money to reside in…and on the coldest day of the whole year having heat is pretty essential.So I did what any other half-ice cube/half-woman would do and I called the “emergency maintenance line” to report this obvious emergency.  At this point it was already about 11:30PM so I had come to the terms that I was going to have to “rough it” for the night, but HOPEFULLY by the time I get home tonight this will be fixed and I can freeze this memory right out of my head!  Wish me luck!!

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on January 25, 2013, in This is Me! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Crystal and the Nicoles

    Ahh, that is the worst! I can deal with lots of things, but that feeling of being so cold that your limbs actually start to ache and you wonder if you might freeze on the spot? Not fun. Hope your heat is fixed by tonight. xo.

    Like

  2. I know you have a stash of wine. If you drink some really fast, you will be warm.

    Like

    • You know what’s funny? I really don’t have any wine at the moment! Well technically I do have one bottle of peach wine from the vineyard excursion last weekend, but I wanted to save that for a fun night w a friend or something…

      I did, however, find a small bit of rum in my freezer so I had about 1/3 of a rum and pepsi…but it wasn’t very good, so I just put my hood up and went to bed! haha

      Like

What do you think partner?

