Is the Bachelor the new Real World?


seanGrowing up in the 90’s and early 00’s I watched the Real World (even if it meant I had to do it sneakily because my parents wouldn’t let me watch it).  By the time I was in college, one thing I came to realize is that the only way that you will be accepted as part of the cast of this show is if you are seriously f*cked up in some way, shape, or form.  Everyone’s got a story.

A couple years later, once I’m out of college, leading the life of a young professional, AKA I have nothing to do on a Monday night, enter “The Bachelor”.  This is the third Bachelor/Bachelorette season that I’ve been drawn into and last night it dawned on me.  O.M.G. this is RIDICULOUS!  No, really it is.  It’s the Real World, only more embarrassing, and less fun (for the cast).  It’s like every girl that comes on the show has a story.  No, not just a story, a STORY.  Seriously.  One girl has only one arm, another girl is still “recovering” from watching a tree fall on her best friend at summer camp 15 years ago, another girl is milking the adoption card HARD, and yet another gets the paramedics called every freaking episode…and the list goes on and on.  Now, I’m not trying to be insensitive here, but come on!  It’s like every time Sean gets “one-on-one time” with one of the girls they are just DYING to explain to him why they are “the way they are”.

Did anyone ever think that maybe Sean just wants a nice girl without three trunk loads of baggage?  Watching the show, I actually laugh out loud because the look on Sean’s face when he’s having these “serious one-on-one conversations” is amazing.  It’s a cross of amusement, trying not to laugh, and constant annoyance.  Am I completely ranting about the show right now?  Absolutely.  Am I going to continue watching to see who he may or may not propose to?  ummm…ABSOLUTELY!  There’s only 6 girls left and next week they are “heating things up in the US Virgin Islands, and if you think I’m skipping out on that I have two words for you.  You’re Crazy.

tiaraOn a related note, Tiara is “Tiarrable” and she needs to go home, and possibly to a mental institution, like yesterday.  For real.  You can’t even make up the stunts this broad pulls!

About erinHasThoughts

I just started eHT in January of 2011, and I'm shocked and humbled that people read it! For some reason it seems like I am always in the most ridiculous situations and witness things only seen in movies, so I like to share my experiences with all of you. Thanks for reading! xo

Posted on February 7, 2013, in T.V. and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m cracking UP. I don’t watch this show, but I was a huuuuge fan of “The Real World” when I was a kid and it was even a goal of mine to be on it. Then I realized that show was one thing I actually wasn’t fucked up enough to participate in.

    Like

What do you think partner?

